PDA

View Full Version : Jasmine CN110, Nobles, Girvan 1958, job No.28

quiet waters
22nd March 2008, 10:46
finally made a start on my first attempt at building a model trawler, Nobles of Girvan built Jasmine, Alistair Noble very kindly gave me a loan of the original drawings and with the purchase of a scrollsaw and a bandsaw i can finally make a start.

fully expect to encounter numerous snags along the way, as long as i get the lines of the boat right i'll be happy, not expecting the finished boat to meet the standard of those featured on this site but since i intend to build many more in the future i might one of these days get one to look "alright"

nhp651
22nd March 2008, 12:51
looking good already, quiet waters, and a very interesting way of constructing a bread and butter type hull.I would never have thought of doing it that way, but after 40 odd years of trying different methods, I am still learning.
Well done, and don't forget.......there's never a bad model.enjoy the build, and don't give up.cheers,neil.

quiet waters
22nd March 2008, 15:19
thanks, i just noticed that my pics look a bit misleading, i could bread and butter them as you call it but t finished boat would only be about 20" long, a bit smaller than i want. i'm working from the original plans and there are 41 frames or ribs in a boat that is 54ft. i'm beginning to think that i could have done with only a third of that for the purpose of the model. haven't decided wether to leave each frame as it is or to hollow them out for realism, if i do that then with the addition of a few extras for bow and stern i have spent the last two days cutting out enough to make three models!!!!

i set them up using only about ten over a length of 81cm and it looks a bit narrow in the beam? i switched off the power in the shed and cmae in to the house for caffiene and nicotene to mull it over.